OAC Backup issue

I have found myself between projects for a couple of weeks which has given me a great opportunity to get hands-on with interRel’s OAC instance. It has been great to crawl around it, kick the tires, and get my hands dirty under the hood, so to speak.

One of the things we had issues with was running a backup at the service level. In OAC, there are two types of backups – service level and application level. The service backup is a full backup of all the runtime artifacts required to restore the service, such as the WebLogic domain, service instance details, and any metadata associated with your service. Basically, it’s like a snapshot of the VM that gets saved to your cloud storage instance (one of the prerequisites of OAC).

As I was playing with OAC and trying to figure out how to administer the product, I noticed that a monthly patch was available. Before applying the patch, I decided to take a service backup just to be safe in case anything happened during the patch.

From the OAC dashboard, I selected Administration. Then on the backup tab, I selected Backup Now.

OAC Backup Now

After 30 minutes or so, I came back to find out that my backup had failed. I attempted to run the patch anyway, but it does a backup first as well and so it failed again.

Eventually, I ended up submitting an SR with Oracle for help. Within about an hour or so, Oracle Support determined that it was likely that when we created our OAC database cloud instance that the USERS tablespace was not created.

My friend and co-worker, Wayne Van Sluys (http://beyond-just-data.blogspot.com/), ran into this issue at one of our OAC clients as well. Wayne sent over the information that I needed to get connected to our DBaaS instance via Oracle SQL Developer.

When you create an OAC service, one of the prerequisites is setting up the DBaaS service. The connection information you will need is accessible from the Database Cloud Service console. The Public IP address and connection string on the Service Overview page gives you what you need to know along with your “sys” schema name and password.

DBaaS connection info

In addition to this information, you also need to edit the Access Rules for the DBCS service to allow connections from outside on port 1521. I enabled this Access Rule for the service while I made the change.

DBaaS access rules

In SQL Developer, I was then able to set up the connection to our DBCS instance.

SQL Developer connection

With the connection made, I could then submit the SQL code to add the USERS tablespace using the “CREATE TABLESPACE” command. I will leave it to the reader to consult a DBA on the command and what options you should supply with the command.

After creating the USERS tablespace, the backups are now running successfully and I was able to apply the latest patch to our OAC environment.

Success

Success!

One comment

Leave a Reply

